The Three Marys (also spelled Maries) are women mentioned in the canonical gospels' narratives of the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus, several of whom were, or have been considered by Christian tradition, to have been named Mary (the most common name for Jewish women of the period).

The Gospels give the name Mary to several individuals. At various points of Christian history, some of these women have been identified with one another.

  • Mary, mother of Jesus
  • Mary Magdalene
  • Mary of Jacob (mother of James the Less) (Matthew 27:56; Mark 15:40; Luke 24:10)
  • Mary of Clopas (John 19:25), sometimes identified with Mary of Jacob
  • Mary of Bethany (Luke 10:38–42, John 12:1–3), not mentioned in any Crucifixion or Resurrection narratives but identified with Mary Magdalene in some traditions.

Another woman who appears in the Crucifixion and Resurrection narratives is Salome, who, in some traditions, is identified as being one of the Marys, notwithstanding having a different name. In such cases, she is referred to as Mary Salome. Other women mentioned in the narratives are Joanna and the mother of the sons of Zebedee.


This image is in the public domain.

Please Subscribe or Donate to Help Keep This Site Free!

Share this post