The Seven Sorrows of Mary are a devotion in the Catholic Church that involves meditating on seven events in the life of Mary, the mother of Jesus, that caused her great sorrow. These sorrows include:

1) The Prophecy of Simeon
2) The Flight into Egypt
3) The Loss of Jesus for Three Days
4) Mary MeetsJesus Carrying His Cross
5) The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus
6) Mary Receives the Body of Jesus in Her Arms
7) The Burial of Jesus[1][2][3][4][5].

The Master of the Female Half-Lengths is a notname given to a painter or group of painters who were active in the Low Countries during the 16th century. The name comes from a painting called "A Concert of Three Female Figures" (Austria, Harrach collection). There is little information available about this artist or group of artists, and their identity remains unknown. The Master of the Female Half-Lengths is known for their depictions of women in half-length portraits, often with elaborate costumes and jewelry. There are 77 artworks attributed to this artist that have been sold at auctions[1][2][3][4][5].

This image is in the public domain.

Please Subscribe or Donate to Help Keep This Site Free!

Share this post