The Heavenly Virtues were derived from the Battle for the Soul, an epic poem written by Prudentius around AD 400 (also known as the Psychomachia). Practicing these virtues protects one against temptation toward the Seven Deadly Sins: humility against pride, kindness against envy, temperance against gluttony, chastity against lust, forgiveness against anger, charity against greed, and diligence against sloth.



Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, it interferes with the your recognition of the grace of God. Humility is the exact opposite of Pride. It is the belief in the need for the grace of God and for help from others.

"Christ lived in obscurity, and exercised a workman's craft with his father Joseph for nineteen years, to give to the world a memorable example of humility."
The Great Commentary of Cornelius A Lapide.


Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation. Kindness (also known as admiration) is the opposite of envy. When you are kind and admire others, you respect their status and abilities and praise them for it.

"Righteous daily speech overcomes all iniquity."
Shepherd of Hermas


Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than one requires. Temperance is the opposite. Temperance is when you consume only what you need and when you practice self control.

“Prayer shall be my food and drink.”
The Protoevangelium of James.


Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body. Chastity is the opposite of Lust. Chastity is remaining pure by not giving in to bodily pleasures that are inappropriate.

“Lord, thou knowest, that not for fleshly lust do I take my wife, but only for the love of posterity, in which thy name may be blessed forever and ever.”
Tobit 8:9


Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. Forgiveness is the opposite of anger. When you forgive, you let go of the things they did that hurt you and you love them despite their flaws.

“If the Lord God has not made manifest your sins, neither do I judge you.”
The Protoevangelium of James


Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. Charity is the opposite of greed. It is the desire to share your material and spiritual wealth with others.

“Happy is he, who performs great services for his neighbor, yet does not trouble about receiving anything in return.”
Blessed Egidius of Assisi


Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work. Diligence is the opposite of sloth. Diligence is monitoring one's own activities to guard against laziness and trying your best to stay focused and on-task.

"Stand steadfast, therefore, you who work righteousness, and doubt not, that your passage may be with the holy angels."
Shepherd of Hermas


Almighty and eternal God, I adore Thee, and I thank Thee for all the benefits which Thou, in Thy infinite goodness and mercy, hast conferred upon me. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.

Thank You and God Bless +
And until next time … stay holy my friends!

Share this post